FW Ta152H: Rudder Development


Fockewulf Ta152: Rudder Model:

The inclusion of many of the drawings for the rudder section with the scans I received prompted a new challenge for me. It is hard to resist the temptation to actually model this unit in its entirety, although potentially problematic due to the forming of the curved sheet metal elements.

This post has been updated as the previous day by day development process articles have been removed in a blog tidy up!

2009-06-09_2152

2009-06-10_0021

At this stage of the development I have the base structure in place along with four ribs and the components necessary to form the exterior profile. The individual models are fairly basic at this stage, still requiring a lot of detail work to complete them. My primary concern at this time is to check the relationships of each model in an assembly environment and also to derive the necessary interfaces to develop the next stage.

Project 09i: Penultimate Update     Project 09i: Penultimate Update

As I mentioned in my previous posts, the items are initially created from the manufacturing part drawings, which do not necessarily reflect actual ‘as-fitted’ state – so each component has to be developed to suit both criteria. The biggest problem I had with the ribs was with the lower unit that fits snugly between the triangular gussets. The forward part of this rib actually falls at a slope and has an angular bend line for the flanges which is dictated by the upward and outward slope of the gussets. In this instance I created a plane parallel to the inside face of the gussets in conjunction with construction geometry to mark the thickness deviation where the rib intersects with the inward profile of the vertical channel.

You may also have noticed the emboss feature in the ribs – which incidentally is a feature included as standard within Solidworks, my only gripe with this is that it only has one size listed – I will need to read up on the configuration options in Solidworks to create more size options. This also poses a dilemma – there are basically two types of embossing – the deformation of the surface as shown or similar but with a thru’ hole at the bottom – it is not clear on the drawings which is required and consequently I am having to make a best guess at what is required – so for now I will work with the emboss shown until my research can confirm otherwise.

After many days of intensive work I eventually finished the model as shown below:

Project 09X: Rudder Model Finish & Intro…

About Hugh

BIM & Cad Manager/Strategist, 3D/4D, multi-discipline cad workflows, integration. Interests include photography and historical aviation.
This entry was posted in WW2 Aircraft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FW Ta152H: Rudder Development

  1. Gene says:

    Dear Hugh, I recently stubbled across your web site https://hughtechnotes.wordpress.com/category/ww2-aircraft-fw190-solidworks-autodesk-inventor-surface-modelling/page/2/

    and i just wanted to say what a fantastic article.. it was very interesting and helpful to read.. oh, let me quickly introduce myself my name is Gene Zabin and I’m writing you from the windy city Chicago. just thought you might like to know a little about the person that decided to drop you a email, then wondering who the heck is writing ya!! anyway I’ve been trying to get back into a engineering career and learn free-form modeling.. and to be honest this is the first time I have come across any article or tutorial that had some meat to it.. I mean your assembly and sheet-metal work is outstanding and the surface modeling is excellent. so I guess, I was wondering if there was anyway you would be willing to send me any information on how you actually built the assembly and surfaces or maybe even send me a copy of your solidwork part so I can see your procedures on how you built the surfaces and the sheet-metal parts or maybe you can upload something to your site so others (like myself) can download it and see how you actually molded and assembled it.

    I know this isn’t something you probably do very often but I am very interested in trying to learn how to model, design and build surfaces and sheet-metal parts like you have done.. they just look outstanding and they have some of the complexity that I have been trying to learn..and like I’ve mentioned before this is the first time I actually came across someone that seems to understand real world applications and some complex modeling surfacing that I have been looking for… so if there is anything you can do to help me with my quest, it would be greatly appreciated beyond words.

    Thanks again Hugh,
    and I look forward to hearing from you.

    Gene. J. Zabin

Leave a Reply

